MLIS: One month down…

First class of library students at the University of Illinois, 1893-94 (University of Illinois Archives).

Well, I have officially been in graduate school for over a month now. It seems like only yesterday I was driving across the Manhattan Bridge fumbling with my phone trying to snap a picture of the view in front of me–my car packed to the gills, cat at my side–excited for the new chapter of my life to begin.

For the first time in years I feel inspired and invincible. I have jumped headfirst into this field and this city. I want to experience everything they have to offer and am savoring every moment. On top of my three classes and my yoga work-study AND roller derby, I’ve managed to be offered two internships, am excited to be interviewing for a third, and am in the running for a leadership position on a student chapter of a professional library association! I am both physically and mentally exhausted yet completely content.

Am I biting off more than I can chew? Maybe. All I know is with each new class and each new reading I grow more confident that this is what I want to do, what I was meant to do, and I’m going to do everything in my power to ensure that I succeed. Look out world, I am working with a purpose now.

Leave a Reply

